I love Metallica. I could end this post right now, but I’ll elaborate a bit on the subject! My brother has been very influential to me when it comes to musical preference. He would wear Guns ‘N Roses t-shirt and listen to plenty of songs from a particular band… a band which I came to love.

During my high-school years a train was established in Puerto Rico which made it a lot easier for me to get to my school located in Rio Piedras. I loved taking the train, but hated that it took a little over 30 minutes to get to my destination. Add me not having a CD player or one of those fancy new iPods into the mix and you have yourself one impatient puertorrican. That all changed when I got myself a CD player a week later and started getting some music to listen to on the way! Guess the two bands that I listened to the most… if you get this wrong, you press alt+F4 and go to sleep right now. Guns ‘N Roses and Metallica.

Enter Sandman was the song I listened to the most and to this day I must have listened to that song over 150 times. I’m the type of person that can easily watch or listen to something for an indefinite amount of times as long as I fall in love with it. I’ve watched the movie ‘White Chicks’ over 8 times. Yes I just admitted to that… anyway, others will say their first love was a girl named Rebecca or their first car, my first true love really was this band by the name of Metallica.  My brother is a big Metallica fan but found out that I’ve surpassed him greatly regarding our appreciation to them when I would only play Metallica songs when we were in a car. For the record  I actually do listen to other bands, here’s a small list:

– AC/DC (Another big favorite of mine)
– Adelita’s Way
– Breaking Benjamin
– Shinedown
– Skillet
– The Decemberists

There has been fairly good amount of rock bands that have come to Puerto Rico (most recently AC/DC, and their concert ROCKED!), but I was still waiting for them to come… Luckily, it was announced shortly after the AC/DC concert that Metallica was indeed coming to Puerto Rico. Words honestly cannot describe how happy I felt, and even happier once we got our tickets for the show. March 14 is getting closer and closer as the days go by…

I’ll end this post with a list of my favorite Metallica songs:

– Blackened
– Creeping Death
– Cyanide
– Enter Sandman
– Fade to Black
– For Whom the Bell Tolls
– Fuel
– King Nothing
– No Leaf Clover
– One
– Sad But True
– Seek & Destroy
– The Unforgiven
– Wherever I May Roam

